IELTS - The International English Language Testing System

IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is designed to assess the language ability of people who want to study or work in countries where English is the language of communication. For full information:

There is no pass or fail in IELTS. Results are reported as band scores on a scale from 1 (the lowest) to 9 (the highest).

  • 9 – Expert user
  • 8 – Very good user (Cambridge Proficiency)
  • 7 – Good user (Cambridge Advanced)
  • 6 – Competent user (Cambridge First)
  • 5 – Modest user
  • 4 – Limited user
  • 3 – Extremely limited user
  • 2 – Intermittent user
  • 1 – Non-use
  • 0 – Did not attempt the test

There are two modules to choose from:

Academic – this module is for people wishing to study in English at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, and for those seeking professional registration. General Training – this module is for people wishing to migrate to an English–speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK), and for those wishing to train or study in English at below degree level.

Each organisation sets its own entry requirements. Please check with the organisation you are applying to in order to check:

  • which module you should take
  • which band score is required

Placement Test

If you do not know your current level of English, we recommend that you take a Placement Test before starting a preparation course. We can then advise you as to whether you are likely to achieve the band score required.